Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eastman MD-305

Default Eastman MD-305

Hello all, I am a brand new newbie here. I have been lurking for a little while and decided to join the madness. I've been playing guitar for 34 years and started playing mandolin around 2 years ago. I am thoroughly enjoying it, and now that I becoming more serious about my playing, I have decided to upgrade from my $120 Ibanez beater to something a little better for all occasions. I am mostly going to be playing bluegrass. I have been looking around and doing some research, and I am thinking about the Eastman MD-305. It looks like a solid player's mandolin for the price. I would rather have an F shape, but whatever. That is nothing but cosmetics, and the A shape 305 still looks pretty good...I dont really care enough to pay the extra $200-$300 for an F shape, especially when I am reading that A shapes seem to give better performance in their price range

I am hoping to get an opinion or two, perhaps some validation, to see if I am correct in my conclusion...? From what I have gathered, the MD-305 is a decent instrument. Would anyone agree, disagree, or recommend another? Keeping in mind I will be doing bluegrass collabs...Thanks in advance for any and all input, and thanks for having me here.

Default Re: Eastman MD-305

Welcome! Yep, the 305 is a great choice at that price, as long as you buy one that's well setup (if you buy from a cage sponsor it should come well setup) or if you fancy DIY, I'll save someone else the energy of recommending Rob Meldrum's free setup ebook, which you can get by emailing him. At this point someone else will have to tell you his address, I don't know it. But yes, that's a good choice, so I say go for it!
    Mandolin: Kentucky KM150
    Other instruments: way too many, and yet, not nearly enough.

My blog: https://theoffgridmusician.music.blog/
    My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChF...yWuaTrtB4YORAg