Thread: Radial Tonebone PZ-Pre Acoustic Preamp

Default Radial Tonebone PZ-Pre Acoustic Preamp

any reviews for this for mandolin ..
    still searching for the eq boost for mando/ violin . Its hard to make a decision, so many different options and reviews

Default Re: Radial Tonebone PZ-Pre Acoustic Preamp

I've been using one for a few years now, and commonly run a mandolin with a K&K twin and a resonator mandolin with a Fishman pickup through it on the two input channels, using the A/B input switch to toggle between the two. I have different gain requirements for each of these pickups, accommodated by the separate channel gains on the Tonebone. The EQ is great, and includes sweep-able, notch-able mids, although I seldom need to do much with my current setup. The unit also has an adjustable gain foot switch boost that I use frequently and a mute switch so you can cut your output while tuning on stage. This is very high quality gear. The only limitations I find are that you need AC power and the EQ applies to both input channels (you can't apply different EQ settings to the separate channels). A minor annoyance is that you can inadvertently hit the mute switch or the channel input toggle while trying to activate the boost, so you do have to pay attention to where you step or you'll be the only one that hears your great solo!

3. The following members say thank you to BHart for this post:

thanks that's the info I need. Have you been able to compensate with the amps eq for one instrument then eq the pedal to get good eq for both instruments.