Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 39 of 39

Thread: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

  1. #26

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    When putting a system together, it is important to pay attention to the components used in the device. You can spend your money on something like a RedEye, which has relatively few parts of high quality, or spend the same money on something with four bands of EQ, and a digital processor or two. I vote simple quality. These days I use a SunnAudio Stage 1.
    Silverangel A
    Michael Kelly LSFTB
    Arches F style kit
    1913 Gibson A-1

  2. #27
    Americana in France? Daniel Nestlerode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Picardie
    Posts
    1,973
    Blog Entries
    81

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    Quote Originally Posted by pops1 View Post
    I use the RedEye, still have my Orchid, but too many places I play either don't have phantom or it is not 48 volts so I don't use it much anymore. Liked it while I used it tho.
    Really? Nearly every desk I have ever seen has a button for 48v phantom power. Most people never use it. So I can imagine quite a few amateur engineers wouldn't know about it.

    I did a gig where one guy turned it off again just before I got to the instrument that uses it. He asked me if it was dangerous to leave it on.


    Daniel
    Last edited by Daniel Nestlerode; Jul-14-2019 at 2:36pm.

  3. #28

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    Yes, just about every mixer has phantom power, and Hi Z switches are seen a lot too. But you are correct that the people using them don't know the how and whys of their mixers. I imaging the impedance switches are labeled hi Z for space considerations.
    Silverangel A
    Michael Kelly LSFTB
    Arches F style kit
    1913 Gibson A-1

  4. #29
    Registered User almeriastrings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Almeria, Spain
    Posts
    5,429
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    'Hi Z' is the correct technical term as 'Z' is the formula for impedance in electronic calculations.
    Gibson F5 'Harvey' Fern, Gibson F5 'Derrington' Fern
    Distressed Silverangel F 'Esmerelda' aka 'Maxx'
    Northfield Big Mon #127
    Ellis F5 Special #288
    '39 & '45 D-18's, 1950 D-28.

  5. #30
    Registered User John Bertotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    2,668

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    Quote Originally Posted by Br1ck View Post
    Yes, just about every mixer has phantom power, and Hi Z switches are seen a lot too. But you are correct that the people using them don't know the how and whys of their mixers. I imaging the impedance switches are labeled hi Z for space considerations.
    In defense of new people I had no idea what phantom power was when I started. Fortunately Being trained in electrical and electronics I knew what bins was but had no idea how it applied to music at the time. We all start somewhere thankfully there are helpful people out there to get newbs on track. Pardon the pun.
    My avatar is of my OldWave Oval A

    Creativity is just doing something wierd and finding out others like it.

  6. #31
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    High Peak - UK
    Posts
    2,503

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    Phantom power can be scary if you try to connect unbalanced sources to balanced inputs. Don’t turn it on in such circumstances if you don’t know what you’re doing!

  7. #32
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    S.W. Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,917

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel Nestlerode View Post
    Really? Nearly every desk I have ever seen has a button for 48v phantom power. Most people never use it. So I can imagine quite a few amateur engineers wouldn't know about it.

    I did a gig where one guy turned it off again just before I got to the instrument that uses it. He asked me if it was dangerous to leave it on.


    Daniel
    I am sure most new equipment, especially a board would have 48v phantom. I use a Carvin Stagemate, it does not have phantom. I play weekly boat cruises and set up a smal 6 channel (new) Peavey, it has 30v phantom. The Orchid needs the 48v. It will work with less, but not as well. I like the RedEye as it sounds good and is small to carry. I have sold other pre's, but keep the Orchid around, maybe will get it out again, it was a good sounding pre. A lot of folks I know and play with (old time) use older equipment and while it has phantom, not 48v.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

  8. #33
    Registered User Mandobart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    2,891

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    I've never used one of these stand alone phantom power supplies (I use a RedEye these days which runs on phantom or 9 volt battery). Would this work if your board/amp doesn't provide it?

  9. #34
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    S.W. Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,917

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    I have a stand alone phantom, used it for years and works great. Usually only use it for large diaphragm condensers tho.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

  10. #35
    Registered User John Bertotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    2,668

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    If you have phantom power there is always something like the cloudlifter to use phantom to make a clean pre. I think that's what it does.
    My avatar is of my OldWave Oval A

    Creativity is just doing something wierd and finding out others like it.

  11. #36
    coprolite mandroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Outer Spiral Arm, of Galaxy, NW Oregon.
    Posts
    15,661

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    FWIW, c-Dyn.s is a built in schertler pickup .. now resocoil with TRS 1/4" jack ..

    works well.. (XLR Plug may work on large bodied instruments)

    https://secure.schertler.com/en_US/s...ckups/resocoil
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

  12. #37
    mandolin slinger Steve Ostrander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Capitol of MI
    Posts
    2,686

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    I have a K&K in my Breedlove ff and my Acoustic guitar and I go directly into my Fishman Artist with both. It sounds good. I sometimes will use the DI out on the back of the Artist into my Fishman SoloAmp PA if I need to fill more space.

    Going direct into a guitar amp made for electric guitar or DI into a mixing board is going to be a mismatch. It usually sounds shrill and quacks like a duck.
    Never say "bouzouki" to a TSA agent...

  13. #38

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    While I like my acoustic amplifier, and use it solo, I believe I'd go the powered speaker route if I were starting over. You can use it solo and it's handy in a group for either PA or monitor speaker. Get two and build a small PA around them. Use either a pre or mixed in front.
    Silverangel A
    Michael Kelly LSFTB
    Arches F style kit
    1913 Gibson A-1

  14. The following members say thank you to Br1ck for this post:


  15. #39
    Registered User John Bertotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    2,668

    Default Re: Question about Acoustic Amps and PreAmps

    Quote Originally Posted by Br1ck View Post
    While I like my acoustic amplifier, and use it solo, I believe I'd go the powered speaker route if I were starting over. You can use it solo and it's handy in a group for either PA or monitor speaker. Get two and build a small PA around them. Use either a pre or mixed in front.
    I don't play out but the versatility of the Small powered PA is exactly why I went with them and sadly I wanted some less, much less expensive ones but these were in store also and I had to try them. You know how they say only try instruments within your budget, the same holds true for PA speakers. And for anyone new to mixers PAs and such is be aware of the hidden cost, bit me rather hard, cables! Didn't even consider it until I got home and realized I didn't have enough anymore! Oddly I use them for everything music from my acoustics to playing back form my software through them to hear how it sounds to just using them as very loud boom boxes when I am working outside.
    My avatar is of my OldWave Oval A

    Creativity is just doing something wierd and finding out others like it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •