Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here, suffering from analysis paralysis

Default Newbie here, suffering from analysis paralysis

Hi folks, thanks for having me as a member to this incredible forum!

I've been doing some reading over the past few weeks, both on this forum and at some other websites, trying to learn what I can about mandolins. Lots of great information and plenty of recommendations. It's actually a bit of an overload!

A very short bit about me:

I certainly don't consider myself an accomplished musician, but I do play some guitar- primarily strumming cowboy chords, I've never been a picker. I enjoy buying and setting up low to mid-tier guitars and reselling them. I go through a couple every year, usually breaking even on investment. It's fun, and I enjoy the learning experience each new project brings.

I'm primarily interested in playing folk, everything from Stan Rogers to Oysterband to Steeleye Span.

Even at my price point ( <$500), there are a surprising number of options, especially when getting into the used market.

After reading many of the hive-mind's suggestions to other beginners on this forum, I have some ideas taking into account on my own specific criteria. I'd like to start with an "A" style archtop mando to get the best bang for my buck. I'd like to go with something that is solid. I'll be honest- more important to me than tone and output to me is durability and playability. Essentially, my only goal is to learn the basics on a stress-free instrument to see if a mando is right for me. I'm looking into spruce/mahogany bodies and a V-neck. I believe that a quieter instrument may actually be beneficial for my practice habits (and my family that has to deal with the noise).

If you would please, let me know if I'm way off in my decision making process. I'll most gladly accept your wisdom and any suggestions that you may have for me.

Again, thanks very much for having me here.

Cheers,

Zack