Thread: Recommendations for a ruined(?) finish

Default Recommendations for a ruined(?) finish

First mandolin. F5. I'm working on posting pictures but wanted to first explain the situation. I am a pure novice, using the Simminoff book as a first reference but also taking queues from this forum, YouTube and elsewhere. As it's my first instrument, I wouldn't be terribly sad to have ruined the finish. I'm mostly concerned with whether it sounds and plays correctly so I can learn on it.

Here's the situation:
    Spruce top. Maple sides and backs. Maple neck with a padauk strip down the middle. Ebony point protectors, peghead overlay. Black-white-black binding made of plastic. I sanded it to 320 after finishing assembly. Dyed with alcohol-based TransTint dyes--the top dyed brown mahogany and everything else dyed dark walnut. (I did not endeavor to attempt a traditional finish, just one that I thought was simple and that I liked the look of.)

Here is the kicker: In looking for a simple finish that I could do in my little shop, I decided on Tru Oil. (Much thanks to the members of this forum for your suggestions in a prevoius post.) In watching YouTube instructions on applying Tru Oil, I came across a gentleman who first prepped a guitar by applying Aqua Coat filler. So, that's what I did. I followed the directions. The can clearly says, "Can be applied before or after staining." I wiped the Aqua Coat on against the grain and wiped off with the grain (again, per instructions).

This basically created a blotchy mess, particularly all over the spruce top. The darker maple pieces were a little better off, but not ideal. But the spruce top was absolutely disastrous.

So I've spent the morning sanding down the Aqua Coat and, by association, much of the dye on the top and also the back. The sides and neck not so much.

So, what did I do wrong here? I'm a novice, as I said, and so if I missed something very obvious that wouldn't surprise me.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Mark