Thread: Shop organization, layout suggestions

Default Shop organization, layout suggestions

I have been a woodworker for years, and my interests have never really settled on one area. I've done woodturning (from pens to bowls to vases), built some pieces of furniture, done some carving, etc. But only recently since I started building my first mandolin have I thought I might like to focus primarily on lutherie.

The problem is that I've organized and outfitted my shop at any given time to address whatever need I had at that time--i.e. ripping stock, planing boards, intense sanding, and so on.

Thinking that I might settle in and build instruments, I realize I may need to reorganize my shop and also change the layout. Do you all have any tips, suggestions, experiences in this regard? I'm not looking for blueprints or anything specific. But suggestions like how many benches you have, where certain tools are placed in relatin to others, specific tools that are must-haves, etc. would be helpful.

I will say that this first experience building a mandolin has caused me to seek out a few specialized tools like finger planes and the like and also to build a number of specific jigs. I think in those departments I am getting where I need to be.

Thanks for any suggestions you might have.

Mark

Default Re: Shop organization, layout suggestions

I used to have a whole house (1500 sq ft or so) as a shop. It was cool, but each room was about 12x12 maximum, so each room kind of evolved into a specific use.