Thread: Trouble Playing A major

Default Trouble Playing A major

Hello,

I am very new to playing mandolin and I've been trying to learn chords. I cannot get my fingers to make the 2-2-4-5 shape for the A chord. I especially have trouble getting my little index finger to hold down both the G and D strings at the same time. Does anybody have any tips or resources to help? Or should I just play the 3 finger version for now?

Default Re: Trouble Playing A major

There's a few things that can make barre chords (the 2-2 is a mini-barre) easier:

- use the bony side of your index finger closer to the thumb to fret, rather than center finger
    - pull your fretting hand back using your whole arm rather than squeezing with the thumb as hard as you can
    - use your picking hand arm to stabilize the instrument body, with elbow countering the forward movement from the other arm pulling back

when starting out any fretted instrument you can make it easier:
    - lower string action
    - lighter gauge strings
    - tune down a half step (these all reduce string tension at the expense of tone/sustain)
    Kentucky km900
    Yamaha piano, clarinet, violin; generic cello;
    a pedal steel (highly recommended); banjo, dobro don't get played much cause i'm considerate ;}

Shopping/monitoring prices: vibraphone/marimbas, rhodes, synths, Yamaha brass and double reeds

Have you tried the 2-2-0-0 A chord? You mention three-finger as a possible rather than the four-finger one, but the 2-2-0-0- gives you a chord which can be either major or minor (A-E-a-e), as it does not include the third note of the scale (C# for A major, C for A minor). Those 2-finger shapes are great for traditional music, Celtic stuff, etc.
    I'm playing all the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order. - Eric Morecambe

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheOldBores

gtani7 is talking about what I think is one of the biggest secrets of playing a stringed instrument.