Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grieving Sally Goodin

Default Grieving Sally Goodin

Our dog Sally Goodin went to heaven Sunday morning, May 5. Sally was a 9 year old Sheltie, the most loving, sweet and polite dog. She was a treasure.
    9 years ago my wife, who worked at an animal hospital, told me she wanted a dog. I had never owned a dog, and I resisted.....then I gave in. She brought a sheltie puppy that was rescued from a puppy mill. I fell in love with the puppy immediately and named her Sally Goodin, which is the only mandolin content here.
    She was my biggest fan. I’ve done a lot of crying this week, and it’s very difficult to play “you are my sunshine” because I used to play that for Sally at bedtime.
    This is my first time losing a pet and it is devastating.
    Any advice on working through the loss of an angel like Sally Goodin?
    I appreciate it.
    Bob
    re simmers

Default Re: Grieving Sally Goodin

You could play Sally Good'in...

sorry to hear of your loss. I well know the empty spot they leave. I think every person has an own way of grieving loss, but no matter, there is simply that walk you have to go thru until it ends. Dogs/cats are so different than people, in that I really believe they love unconditionally. I currently have 5 dogs, 16/15/12/10/2 years. all are in very good condition and without issues, but I know the day is coming. 3 cats, 5/2/1 years of age. all the dogs and cats are rescue.

you learn the sound of the animal, how they walk thru your house, how they breath at night when asleep. you miss that and you immediately know the lack of the sounds you are used to hearing.

I'm not sure when the time might be right for you, but keep in mind there are many amazing dogs and cats out there that need a love filled home(and yours sounds like that) , and will give it in return.

d