Thread: Reversed mando tuning/strings for guitar player?

Default Reversed mando tuning/strings for guitar player?

So I'm getting back into the mando after a couple of years away. I'm a guitarist with 35 years pro/semi-pro experience gigging everything from hard rock/metal, to country, to my own original nuevo flamenco and roots type stuff. Scale/chord patterns for guitar are like walking/breathing to me. Mandolin (and other instruments tuned in fourths) is [literally] backwards to my frame of reference. I can certainly play that tuning, but was just curious if anyone has ever experimented with reversing the strings on a mando. Not necessarily putting skinny strings on the top, and fat on the bottom... more like using a fatter E up top and skinnier G on bottom. Not sure if it would sound the same though.

I recently acquired a Veillette Avante Gryphon 12-string that's basically the child of a marriage between a mando and 12-string guitar. It's tuned D-D and there are 6 double courses of strings. It sounds "mando-like", but it has a huge neck (fatter than my actual 12-string guitars) that I don't enjoy playing such a giant neck an awful lot. Tires my left hand fairly quickly. In a few days I'll be picking up a new Eastman 515 that I put a deposit on earlier today. I played a bunch of 315s, 515s, and an 815... and this particular 515 really stood out. So I'm stoked about that, but I was just curious if anyone has tried reversing the strings on a mando. E-G tuning would be just like 4-string electric bass... which I've played a bunch as well... and my same fretboard knowledge still applies, minus the two high strings.

Default Re: Reversed mando tuning/strings for guitar player?