Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Who makes a good inexpensive Octave Mandolin?

Default Who makes a good inexpensive Octave Mandolin?

I am a long way from buying one as I am still learning the mandolin, however, I have decided I really like the sound of the octave mandolin. That is going to be my next purchase.

Is there a maker that markets them for $1200 or under?
    Loar LM-370

“The music is not in the notes, but in the silence between.” ― Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Default Re: Who makes a good inexpensive Octave Mandolin?

I've got an Ashbury Octave that should come in your budget. Great tone, easy player. Sadly up for sale as I need the cash - but I'm in the UK, hence not advertising here.

They're the Hobgoblin house brand and I think available in the US?

The Mandolin Store just sent out an email about these a few days ago: https://themandolinstore.com/product...tave-mandolin/

And there is also the Trinity College: https://themandolinstore.com/product...ith-hard-case/

4. The following members say thank you to vetus scotia for this post:

DocT 

Pono, Big Muddy, Red Valley, Lafferty, I'm sure there's many more. I have a pono tenor guitar bodied octave mando and i love it.

6. The following members say thank you to Em Tee for this post:

DocT 

I was in a store the other day and they had a nice Eastman and a Gold Tone. Odd two octaves in a small store but...they were both under a grand.