Thread: New player and I need lesions suggestions.

Default New player and I need lesions suggestions.

Hello all, new player here and I have some questions about lessons and learning. Let me explain my situation a little first. I’m new to mandolins but have been playing guitar for ever (30+years). Mostly finger style and general folk, blues and whatever catches my ear. I picked up a blemished The Loar 590 and after I leveled the frets and re cut the nut it plays nicely and sounds fine for a beginner instrument.

My issue is the way I learn, or more the ways I don’t learn. I have a mild learning disability. Mostly it manifests in Atrocious spelling, can’t do things like play cards, can’t really remember songs without prompting and even basic music theory just wont stick at all. Things like remembering the fretboard or at times even the basic notes on one string escape me, even after years of trying to remember.. That said, I have a good ear and have learned what I know by watching and listening. I learn much better by being shown, tabs to some degree and ear. The moment theory enters the picture like “hay instead of G, let’s play this in C”.... it’s basically like speaking Basque, even after 30 years of playing. I just watch what’s being played and copy.
    Sooo.... what I’m asking is, is there anyone (books, on line, videos ..etc) that is more a visual and intuitive instructor than theory based instructions? Sort of the slow bus for technically challenge but that have a good ear, fingers and is a visual learner. My goal is to be a good accompanist more that anything... not so much playing single line melodies as I have a hard time remembering those. Anyways... bluegrass, mountain, old time, Americana are my faves. Something thing like Andrew Marlin in Mandolin Orange is my ideal sound style... (I can dream right?).

So any help with pointers to methods, techniques or people/teachers would me most helpful...

Bill