Thread: Gibson?

Default Gibson?

Hey guys & gals,
    I am wanting a vintage Gibson A style mandolin (along with others). My question is how important is the truss rod? I researched to find it of the Loar improvements.
    Curious about a fixed bridge as well.
    The articles appear to state that after the 30's a decline in quality & that would make sense due to finances of the period.
    thanks in advance!

Default Re: Gibson?

I'm not an expert on this but I know the teens A's without a trussrod had the 12th fret joint with a very wide fingerboard and a substantial girth. Instead of an adjustable rod they inlayed a large V shaped piece of maple the full length of the neck. I think they have mostly held up very well. Real stout.
    Last edited by Jim Hilburn; Apr-11-2019 at 11:43am.

3. The following members say thank you to Jim Hilburn for this post:

The teen years had wider fretboards and larger bulkier necks in comparison to models built later with Truss Rods. The body's air volume is slightly larger on teen models requiring a larger tone guard size to fit correctly. Many teens can have excessive bass tubbiness in comparison to the more balanced refined Loar years with Maple bodies and backs. Your Question:How Important is the Truss Rod? The Answer: Not Very Important if you like larger wider necks anyway.
    "A sudden clash of thunder, the mind doors burst open, and lo, there sits old man Buddha-nature in all his homeliness."
    CHAO-PIEN

5. The following members say thank you to hank for this post:

Blog Entries

I recently acquired a teens A that needs a lot of work -- but neck work doesn't appear to be structurally necessary. Since I'm basically performing a full restoration (fixing other people's "repairs") I've considered inlaying a carbon non-adjustable rod, but I think I've decided against it as a preventive measure.