Thread: Dirty old town tab

Default Dirty old town tab

Hiya guya, I hope you are all well..
    I am three months into my playing, so quite a novice, i have come across this tab for "dirty old town"
    https://thewildirishrose.wordpress.c...town-mandolin/
    will some of you guys cast your eyes over it and see if its correct, it seems a little wrong to me, the second part down (is it called a bar) doesnt seem to be the right part for the tune. as i say i am a novice so may be completely wrong...
    Thanks guys
    Last edited by Dean Campbell; Mar-26-2019 at 10:00am.

Default Re: Dirty old town tab

I don't know this song but after a listen I think there are a few notes missing. There are eight phrases to this song. The first three are on the first line and the fourth one is missing. It is a simple tune. I think you should make up the fourth phrase yourself. Use the same notes as the rest of the song. This would be a really good exercise for you. Also the last phrase is 2 0 5 2. The spacing is wrong.

3. The following members say thank you to Bob Visentin for this post:

Quote Originally Posted by Bob Visentin View Post
    I don't know this song but after a listen I think there are a few notes missing. There are eight phrases to this song. The first three are on the first line and the fourth one is missing. It is a simple tune. I think you should make up the fourth phrase yourself. Use the same notes as the rest of the song. This would be a really good exercise for you. Also the last phrase is 2 0 5 2. The spacing is wrong.
    Thanks for the input Bob, i have looked at a few tunes from that page and quite a few seem to be somewhat cobbled together, i know the "dirty old town" tune and i am sure its not right, but it does give me the bones to work with, it will help me learn to pick the notes out and sharpen my ear....it is a really nice tune and quite popular over here and Ireland, thanks Again Bob