Thread: How to inspect a used Eastman?

Default How to inspect a used Eastman?

Hello everyone. I'm very new to mandolin and have been playing around on a used Rogue RM100A that I picked up off Kijiji for $40 Cdn. I'm enjoying it, and looking around a bit more I recently saw another posting for an Eastman and I'm wondering if it would be considered a good enough deal for me to try to pick it up.

I think it's being advertised by a pawn shop, so definitely not my preferred source for an instrument, but I can see in from the pictures that the headstock says Eastman, it's an A-style and it has f-holes. I'm assuming it's probably an MD 305. The price of these new appears to start at $629 Cdn, and this one is being advertised for $400 Cdn. (Being in Canada, it's harder for me to look at purchasing off the classifieds here.)

What do you guys think? Would that be considered a good deal for a used Eastman MD 305? If I make it to the store before it's been sold, I know enough to check over the body for cracks, and sight down the neck to make sure it's not bowed or twisted or anything.

Anything else I should check? I assume action would be adjustable, so I'm less concerned about that then the things that can't be adjusted. Do I need to worry about it being a fake or anything? Are there fake Eastmans?

I hadn't been planning to upgrade yet, but I could swing this price if it's something that seems worth snatching up. If this is considered high for a used instrument, or something that would be considered common/easy to find again in the future than I'll probably wait a bit longer. I'm definitely experiencing a bit of "fear of missing out".

I'd really appreciate any input. Thanks.

Default Re: How to inspect a used Eastman?

Assuming the condition is OK I'd say that the price sounds reasonable for a second hand instrument.