Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Build A Tenor Guitar

Default Build A Tenor Guitar

Hi my Name is Herman (Not really its Dave Im an Admin on a tech forum) and an aspiring musical person .I play Tenor banjo for many years but not in the traditional form no jigs or reels I play traditional country music mostly from the 60s 70s on it as a back-up player. I do play some mandolin also as well as guitar. I just recently discovered Tenor Guitars. To my surprise a good tenor guitar is worth a pretty penny. So I went to finding out a cheaper way for me to get into one.Looked around at guitar kits but no Tenors. I did find a mini guitar with a 22 inch scale that I am thinking about buying it is a kit also. Will be cheap enough for me it is electric. I know some people have asked this question before about converting a 6 string to a 4 string .Change the nut and the bridge(and possibly the pick ups) narrowing the neck I will get my friendly Lutheir to do for me for hopefully not too much cash. Good idea or am I just barking up the wrong tree. Thanks for reading Herman aka Dave

Guernsey... small island just off the coast of France

Default Re: Build A Tenor Guitar

Hi Dave, are you talking about a solid body electric?

Well, it depends on what you mean by "a good tenor guitar", "a pretty penny" and "cheap enough". Then there is the hope that your luthier won't cost too much.... Definitely ask what they'll charge before making the purchase.

4. The following members say thank you to AndyV for this post:

fox 

Probably can buy one for less than converting one.
    Here's a good solid wood acoustic tenor for around $400
    https://reverb.com/item/19572171-blu...br-40t-natural
    I have 2 of these and they are very good.

If you don't mind laminate, you can get into one for $200
    https://www.musiciansfriend.com/guit...c-tenor-guitar
    Last edited by colorado_al; Feb-24-2019 at 2:20am.

6. The following members say thank you to colorado_al for this post:

fox