Thread: G string buzz

Default G string buzz

Hi,

I had been playing the mandolin for a couple of years (flat-back, A-style) - and you could say I'm still a beginner, although a late stage one - when I decided to try the octave mandolin because of my interest in Irish folk music. I purchased a second-hand Ashbury AM-325, which plays just fine except (in my hands) the G strings, which tend to make a nasty buzzing sound. The buzz is coming from the fret I am supposed to be fretting, and the reason is that I find it requires an inordinate amount of hand and finger strength the press both strings down hard enough so that they don't vibrate against the fret. Somebody told me the action might be too high. However, the strings look pretty close to the frets to me: 1 mm at the first fret, 1.5 at the fifth. I'd appreciate people's input on this. Is it a common problem? Is it just a matter of practice? Perhaps ultra light strings would help?

Many thanks.

Default Re: G string buzz

Quote Originally Posted by Capitano View Post
    The buzz is coming from the fret I am supposed to be fretting, and the reason is that I find it requires an inordinate amount of hand and finger strength the press both strings down hard enough so that they don't vibrate against the fret. Somebody told me the action might be too high. However, the strings look pretty close to the frets to me: 1 mm at the first fret, 1.5 at the fifth. I'd appreciate people's input on this.
    That sounds like you may have a problem with the action at the nut, not the overall action -- 1mm at the first fret sounds high to me. A lot of people think of action only as something you adjust at the bridge, and a high bridge action is pretty easy to spot. However, in terms of playability, in particular the force it takes to fret at the lower frets, the action at the nut it probably more important.

There is a really good guide for a simple check you can do to see if your nut needs adjustment. See this page at frets.com: