Thread: Irish Bouzouki as first stringed instrument?

Default Irish Bouzouki as first stringed instrument?

Hi Folks,
    Hope you're all well. I'm hoping to find some guidance on a long-standing question I've had. Is it feasible to start my journey on stringed instruments with Irish Bouzouki, or am I better off getting a handle on guitar or mandolin for a couple years first?
    I have about 30 min./day I can devote to a new musical endeavor.

Quick background: I'm an experienced singer and bodhrán player (Irish trad. and folk songs), performing for 15 or so. Everything I know about music has come from attending sessions and gigging - apart from learning by ear, I have little musical knowledge, other than a couple years of organ/keyboard when I was young.

I absolutely love Irish Bouzouki, especially in the vein of Planxty, et al. My goals (in no particular order) are to be able to:
    -Accompany Trad. tunes.
    -Play Trad. melodies
    -Accompany myself singing
    -Jam with a variety of folk/country-folk/rock musicians

I got a great deal on a 'factory blemish' Gold Tone Octave Mandolin about a year ago. Finally got it out, and tuned GDAD. I've just started checking out the following resources:
    -Roger Landes' 'Hal Leonard Irish Bouzouki Method' book/online videos.
    -Declan Plummer - online Irish Bouzouki resources.
    -'Online Academy of Irish Music' beginner videos.

What I'm noticing right away is that my general lack of knowledge with stringed instruments is a handicap. Any guidance and suggestions on:
    -Forging ahead with Irish Bouzouki, and figure out the missing pieces as I go?
    or
    -Stepping back, get some basics on Guitar or Mando, making use of the wider variety of resources and general musical knowledge before moving to the Zouk?
    Thanks a million

Default Re: Irish Bouzouki as first stringed instrument?