Thread: Weber Gallatin F weight & action vs. other entry-level mandolins

Default Weber Gallatin F weight & action vs. other entry-level mandolins

I am a newbie looking at entry-level mandolins. I tried a Northfield Calhoun this past weekend and it was surprisingly heavy, with huge thick strings. My friend’s Kentucky is much easier to play although it doesn’t sound as nice.

I am coming from violin so I don’t know what to expect from a mandolin but I definitely prefer a lighter weight instrument with easier strings and action.

There’s a used Weber Gallatin out there at an attractive price, and I’m wondering if anyone has experience with the weight, action and general playability of these instruments? They sure do sound nice.

Default Re: Weber Gallatin F weight & action vs. other entry-level mandol

I can't remember ever picking up a mandolin and thinking it was heavy, but that's me. The thing to be mindful of with Gallatins is some were made with wood other that maple. Not that they wouldn't work for you, just saying. You can have any decent mandolin set up to play well, so a particular instrument can have higher action and heavy strings, but you can change that. At the level you are starting at, anything will sound and play well with a good setup.

A lot will depend on what you want to play, and f vs A style. I stumbled onto what would probably be a great mandolin for you, a Silverangel, but you'll have to buy online. Often they come up in the classifieds. But back to your question,nGallatins are solid mandolins that any beginner would be glad to start on. If the price were right, hard to go wrong. Easy to sell for what you paid too.
    Silverangel A
    Arches F style kit
    1913 Gibson A-1