Thread: Old eyes, small tab

Default Old eyes, small tab

Anyone what bluegrass books that have the music (stand,not. and/or tab in pretty large bold print. I’m a beginner and try to work my way through Jack Tottles book but having a heck of a time seeing the music. The notes are hard for me to see and the tab is even harder to see. I’ve taken to photocopying the music and enlarging it, but this is tedious and doesn’t help as much when the print is fine and light.

I like to get a bigger book of tunes but many (even ones with “look inside” dont always show a sheet of music). I’d prefer simple, but not bare bones arrangements. I’d also like to have the contents to be a good representation of iconic bg tunes, o-t, and gospel. Is Parking lot pickers easy to see?

What can folks recommend for the visually challenged?
    Last edited by Bunnyf; Feb-08-2019 at 10:47pm.

Default Re: Old eyes, small tab

As I have gotten older I have tended to read the notes instead of the tab. Yes the numbers are so small and music notation offers more information. If you cannot read music try a pair of loupes or some kind of magnification.

You can see what books are available as ebooks or pdf which you can Control-"+" and maybe having a LED desk lamp trained on the music might help
    Kentucky km900
    Yamaha piano, clarinet, violin; generic cello;
    a pedal steel (highly recommended); banjo, dobro don't get played much cause i'm considerate ;}

Shopping/monitoring prices: vibraphone/marimbas, rhodes, synths, Yamaha brass and double reeds

There are some big note mandolin books out there.
    Loar LM-370

“The music is not in the notes, but in the silence between.” ― Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Quote Originally Posted by DocT View Post
    There are some big note mandolin books out there.