Thread: Northfield Archtops

Default Northfield Archtops

I hope y'all will forgive me if these have been done to death here, but I've been window shopping them for a little while now. They're absolutely beautiful instruments in my book, but I haven't had a chance to play one. I'd love to hear what you folks think about them in general, and in response to the the following questions/discussion prompts ...

1) The scale length is only an inch shorter than my Pono MN. Would a one-inch difference in scale length be noticeable?

2) Any concerns about the Chinese manufacture? All things being equal, I'd much prefer to buy from a US Luther. I haven't heard any complaints about the build quality though.

3) I'm pretty new to Octaves. I picked up my Pono in a trade last year on sort of a whim, and it sounds amazing. (Thansks Fiddler's Green!) Tonally, that may be all the octave I will ever need, no matter how pretty the Northfield's are. I guess that's not really a question. It's more of an expression of gratitude for what I've got. Still, those Northfields sure are pretty.

4) Maple or Mahogany? Show your work.

Anyway, I'd love to get y'all's thoughts on this. Or the weather. Or whatever.

Default Re: Northfield Archtops

Beautiful indeed. Wouldn't baulk too hard at the Chinese manufacturer. In the orchestral world, higher-end Chinese violins, violas, and cellos draw regular praise for being on par with Western standards for a significant discount. It looks like the cats at Northfield are following suit, to great effect unless my eyes deceive me.
    Pomeroy #244 Custom Mandocello - "Liuto Americano"
    NS Design CR6 Electric Cello

3. The following members say thank you to thecelloronin for this post: