Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Old Alvarez vs newer Loar LM600

Default Old Alvarez vs newer Loar LM600

Greetings!

First time poster long time listener....Dumb question by a newer mandolin player, but very experienced older guitarist.

I am buying my first "decent" mando in the next couple days. I have a choice of a vintage 70's Alvarez A800 with the block inlays (kinda prefer the cooler snowflakey type inlays...but...) or a maybe 2-3 year old Loar LM-600. The Alvarez is in great shape owned by a serious mando player and per him, very well set up and has tone for miles. The Loar is owned by a person that never really learned to play it, mostly sat in case.

Beyond the obvious, "you have to play them both.." I get that, I've been buying and selling guitars and basses for 40 years. My question is what would you lean towards. I'm sure they both sound wonderful, the Alvarez will probably be a little more interesting since its owned by a player who does his own work, whereas the Loar has been in a closet or under a bed for a while. I'm not looking at the resale factor, as much as why would somebody gravitate towards the newer Loar made in China vs the vintage Alvarez made in Japan. I've many times noticed that the old Japanese copies of the 70's , while cool in their own right, really aren't made better than some of the newer stuff made in China. Both axes are carved spruce tops, and maple solid sides and backs. So both are what I want to own, but only one gets to come home.

Cost wise, the Loar is at $500 and the Alvarez is at $450.

Thoughts?

Default Re: Old Alvarez vs newer Loar LM600

Do you know where the owner of the Loar got it from? If it was never set up, that would add some extra cost to getting to the same playability level as the Alvarez. Did Alvarez owner gig/jam with it or was it his backup? Are there any other extras, like one comes with a case and one doesn't?

3. The following members say thank you to Seter for this post: