Thread: Total Newbie Looking for advise

Default Total Newbie Looking for advise

Hi Everyone,

Let me apologize in advance because this question has probably been posed many times.

I am a guitarist for 50 years and I have always wanted to learn to play the mandolin.

I am just looking for advise on what would be a good starter instruments.

Thanks for your patience with a newbie.

Mike G.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Total Newbie Looking for advise

Hi, misterg, Welcome to MC!

Well, there are different kinds of Newbies and with your experience you are the kind that knows in advance that there is a learning curve and diligent practice will yield good results and that there are no shortcuts around that reality. Thus I bet you are much more likely to stick that out and thus thus I am willing say don't buy a really cheap mandolin and call it a "starter". You would quickly outgrow it. I would then call an "intermediate" mandolin a starter for someone like you because you would find it to have tonal quality that is pleasant. With that in mind, I think I would recommend looking at the Eastman line if you are looking for new, or possibly entry level Weber or similar if buying used. I just saw a nice looking used Weber Gallatin A model go for under $1000 on eBay yesterday. We seem to be in a buyers' market for mandolins lately.

Absolute necessity for a beginner's mandolin: a good setup job. You can't make a $100 mandolin sound like a $100,000 mandolin, but a good setup will make it play pretty much as easy. Good guitar luthiers are not necessarily good mandolin luthiers, so you might ask around if you have the luxury of several to choose from. Also Rob Meldrum's free ebook on mandolin setup is great for learning how to do a pretty darn good job with rudimentary tools, all by yourself.

See my signature for how to get Rob's book and also a link to the Newbies social group where we have several recovering guitar players.