Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I upgrade to a better instrument

Default Should I upgrade to a better instrument

I've been playing for about 3 years and having lots of fun. I've also played guitar for many years.

I'm wondering if my current instrument may be holding me back. It seems to be a mid-level Kentucky, but I can't read the handwritten model number inside (picture attached).

I had it set up when I bought it (used) and that made it more playable. It sounds pretty good most of the time. I've received occasional compliments on my playing and the sound of the instrument. I still feel like I'm struggling to get the tone and volume that I want (playing bluegrass and folk). The mando might benefit from some additional setup.

I played an Eastman 515 in a shop a few month back and it sounded great. It really barked when I hit those chop chords.

My dilemma:

Additional, professional setup, for the Kentucky and be without it for a week or more? I practice daily and jam with others several time a week.

Get that Eastman, or something similar. Am I worthy of $1000+ instrument? Will it inspire me to take my playing to the next level?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kentucky-mando.jpg 
Views:	239 
Size:	286.2 KB 
ID:	173777  

Default Re: Should I upgrade to a better instrument

Go for it ! You don't have to be worthy to upgrade as long as you can afford it and not taking food off the table for your family !

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yankees1 For This Useful Post:

Gibson F5L Gibson A5L
    Blog Entries

Well … There is no replacement for practice and good technique. Yet I can say a better instrument encourages you while it helps make you sound better. So save your money and play all the different mandolin makers and models. Proceed with patience and caution, you will be rewarded. R/
    I love hanging out with mandolin nerds . . . . . Thanks peeps ...