Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Received my frist mandolin, now what?

Default Received my frist mandolin, now what?

I have my frist mandolin. The only musical back ground I have is self taught blue harmonica. So where do I start? Learn cords? Play scales? Learn strumming? My goal is to be able to sit in on a beginner jam this time next year. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: Received my frist mandolin, now what?

Well, I was able to get to a point where I can use mind as backup while I’m singing. Question will be is that what you need?

Strumming chords to guide tempo and tone is a useful skill, but that depends on if you can sing, or want to play background for someone else.

That said, it’s also going to depend on how many hours a week you can put into it. It took me about 4 months to get into a reasonable comfort zone for chord strumming, with a good chunk of songs I could play.

Sorry to say all 3. Learn to chop if you’re a grasser like myself.
    Knowing scales will enable you to improvise.
    It’s a wonderful journey.

Quote Originally Posted by Eric "Trapper" G View Post
    I have my frist mandolin. The only musical back ground I have is self taught blue harmonica. So where do I start? Learn cords? Play scales? Learn strumming? My goal is to be able to sit in on a beginner jam this time next year. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Mandolessons.com is free and I am learning a lot, there.
    Loar LM-370

“The music is not in the notes, but in the silence between.” ― Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to DocT For This Useful Post:

Now you get sore fingers, frustration and loads of fun. Just mess around with it, learn some basic chords and try to pick out a simple melody that you know in your head. If you stick with it, it will come and you'll be jammin' before you know it. Good luck.

7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Denny Gies For This Useful Post: