Thread: Do i need an amp?

Default Do i need an amp?

Hello guys, i am new to the forum, and this is my first post, i am a complete novice to the mandolin, but have a little experience with the banjo, i am from south yorkshire in the UK,
    i just picked up a good second hand one of these..
    https://www.eaglemusicshop.com/prod/...k-mandolin.htm
    when i had a look at it, the gentleman recommended me picking up a used amp to go with it, he said it will enhance the sound of it, would i be wasting my money buying an amp for it?, at the moment i havent even got to strum it properly yet, i am not quite sure as to what strum pattern i should even use..
    Anyway, i thank you in advance for any advice,
    and Hiya once again
    Deano
    Last edited by Dean Campbell; Dec-26-2018 at 1:26pm. Reason: spelling

Default Re: Do i need an amp?

Welcome to the forum Deano!

Personally I think you'd be wasting your money buying an amp right now - the mandolin you've purchased is an acoustic model, so doesn't need any amplified "enhancement". While it may have a pickup installed so as to allow you to use it with an amp if you so desire in the future (can't tell from the photo if it comes with a pickup or not), you would only really need to use an amp if you were playing live in public with other musicians or in noisy venues. Save your money and direct it towards some lessons (either in person ones or online ones) instead. Enjoy your new (to you) mandolin!
    2018 Girouard Concert oval A
    2015 JP "Whitechapel" tenor banjo
    2018 Frank Tate tenor guitar
    1969 Martin 00-18

my Youtube channel

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jill McAuley For This Useful Post:

Thanks for the welcome Jill,
    yeah it has a Piezzo Pickup, i think you are right, i will just play it as it is at the moment,
    your also right about the lessons as well..

5. The following members say thank you to Dean Campbell for this post:

Blog Entries