Thread: Beginner Seeking Advice - Guitar or Octave Mandolin?

Default Beginner Seeking Advice - Guitar or Octave Mandolin?

I'm a beginner seeking some advice! I've been playing fiddle for at least 15 years and also have a mandolin that I enjoy playing around on. However, I also love to sing and need an instrument that can better accompany a solo vocalist. I've learned to play a handful of chords on a guitar that I've borrowed from a family member but the mandolin seems more intuitive for me since I have background with the violin. Any advice on whether I should pursue guitar further and invest in purchasing my own or should I invest in an octave mandolin? I'm a huge Sarah Jarosz fan so I'm leaning towards the octave mandolin but I'm having a difficult time deciding and would appreciate some advice from those more experienced than myself. I'm seeking the easiest route that will get me up and singing sooner!

Default Re: Beginner Seeking Advice - Guitar or Octave Mandolin?

You could also go with a tenor guitar in octave mandolin tuning.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Seonachan For This Useful Post: