Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drummer, but recently picked up a mandolin to learn for fun

Default Drummer, but recently picked up a mandolin to learn for fun

Hi all. Whats up. My name is Ronnie. I am a 34 year old drummer, but recently I had an itch to grab a banjo or mandolin to try to noodle on and learn for fun. I ended up going the route of the mandolin, mainly for 2 reasons. 1. You can get a beginner el cheapo mandolin for less than a banjo, and 2. the mandolin is small and seems would be easier for me to just mess around with at home anywhere in the house.

I originally had plans to purchase a rogue for 49$ at guitar center, but they never have them in stock locally, and i didnt really feel like getting one shipped and then it being trash when it got here.

I then planned to go check out a The Loar LM-310F since they stock those, but that is 250$ more than the original plan. I found out a local guitar shop also carried them for the same price, and are probably set up much much better than the GC store.

I still waited as I didnt want to spend 299 yet and then be sad for spending it. I stumbled in a local mom and pop music shop and saw 2 mandolins they had on display. They had 2 Savannah A style mandolins brand new for 89$. I strummed them and they sounded good to my drummer ears. I left with it.

Now I feel like the action is probably a little too high and I honestly probably need to go through Rob's E book and do the setup myself, though the mandolin sounds great and seems to keep tune, the action seems a little stiff and hard to me.

Anyways, I just wanted to say hey.

My hopes is that I can get to more than just strumming some G and C and D 3 finger chords, and actually get into chopping, and improving solos. It would thrill me to actually be able to say hey "ill play a gig this time, but on mandolin." Guess we will see if that ever happens.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Drummer, but recently picked up a mandolin to learn for fun