Thread: Banjo fingers

Default Banjo fingers

Hi All I am new to the mandolin but have been playing the banjo for quite some time. My question is "what is the general consensus about having the 3rd and 4th finger on your picking hand resting on the face of the mandolin"? It is such and ingrained action that I sometimes wonder what others do. I know on my banjo it makes little difference but what about the mandolin?

Thanks and input appreciated.

Keith

Default Re: Banjo fingers

The only difference it will make on the mandolin is to cause damage to the top over time. That's where a finger rest is useful.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

3. The following members say thank you to pops1 for this post:

You do not want to post up solid like you do on the banjo. You want the hand free to float whether picking or strumming. There are two schools of thought on fingers. The more common is to curl all the fingers and either lightly brush the wrist behind the bridge or free float all together. The other school has the fingers lightly brush the finger rest/pick guard and float as you pick. Watch some video of pro players.

I do not know of any great mandolin players who post solid like on a banjo. There are a couple of great flatpick guitarists who do and they both say they got into the habit early in their playing and wished that they didn't.

Anchoring your fingers while finger-picking is fine, but using a pick is very different. There have been many discussions on this forum as to what is best: to plant your finger, to let a finger brush lightly as a depth gauge, to lightly touch the heel of your hand behind or on the bridge, to lightly touch the heel of your hand on the unused bass strings in front of the bridge, or to let your hand float freely. Most people suggest NOT planting your finger(s).