Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tremolo Tuesdays-Let's work on our tremability!

Default Tremolo Tuesdays-Let's work on our tremability!

Tremolo to many people seems to be the sound that's closest associated with the mandolin. But for my part, I started practicing tremolo only two or three years ago, when I got into classical mandolin. In method books like the Ranierei method, tremolo seems to be the rule and non-tremolo the exception. But it's not explained how to practice tremolo systematically. That's what I want to discuss in this thread, ways to practice a kind of tremolo, that's not just a special effect, but part of the melodic playing.
    The main difficulty for me is to get out of the tremolo in time for the next note without playing the tremolo too short. What helps me is measured tremolo.
    An example: In John Playford's Gathering Pescods I play the half notes D-U-D-U-D-U-D
    The tempo of the tune is fast enough to make this sixteenth note group sound like a tremolo.

Here's the sheet music, mando tabs and chords
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Gathering_Peascods.pdf 
Views:	220 
Size:	23.9 KB 
ID:	172950
    This is no real tremolo but a good preliminary exercise.
    I prepared some easy tunes with a recording and sheet music (plus tabs), so everybody who wants to work on their tremolo is invited to join in.
    I'd be curious to know, how others approach this subject, especially how to continue after a tremolo and play the following note in time.
    It would be especially nice, if the trem-pros would share their knowledge!

2. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to crisscross For This Useful Post:

Blog Entries

Default Re: Tremolo Tuesdays-Let's work on our tremability!

I am currently working on this:

(numbers = scale degree)

16th notes - 1 2 3 4 5 4 3 2 | 1 (tremolo at 32nd notes for 2 beats)
    So 2 beats of 16th notes and 2 beats of tremolo.
    If this does not make sense I'll make a PDF.