Thread: Back seam separation,Seattle Luthier or return to seller?

Default Back seam separation,Seattle Luthier or return to seller?

Hello,

New here and new to mandolins. My experience is as a novice clawhammer banjo player. Novice is probably being generous. I need some advice and/or referral regarding seam separation repair.

My issue: I got a Weymann Mandolute style 40 (1921?) from an online auction. Per description, was supposed to have minor dings/scratches, stuck tuner. I paid what I think was an OK price (~$260 with tax) given I would have to clean it, probably naptha the tuners, get new strings, maybe find a tailpiece cover, etc. Elbow grease stuff, nothing technical.

I am an income-limited student who doesn't *need* a mandolin--but I am a romantic for rescuing older instruments from Throw-Away-Society and I really wanted to play old-time mandolin music. I like tinkering, so I was also planning to see if I could set it up decent with help from Rob Meldrum's e-book. Which, BTW, is very thoughtful of him to create and share with people for free. My goal here is to save money with elbow grease but still have a playable instrument for old-timey music that years from now I could still appreciate.

I received the mandolute today, and see there at least 3-4" separation in the seam between the pieces that make up the back of the instrument. Also maybe evidence of repair of side seam separation too. The separation/crack in the back seam runs behind the label, but if I hold the mandolin up to light I can see light through portion of the crack not covered by the label.

Is it a lost cause? Should I return it to the seller and hope it finds a home that can handle that kind of repair? I mean I just met this instrument, so if I broke up with it now before things get real messy, I can move on and probably won't rebound with another bad instrument match.