Thread: Found the right pick....

M@ñdº|¡ñ - M@ñdºce||º Keith Erickson's Avatar

Hi Folks,

I've finally found the right pick. It is a 1.5 mm d'andrea. It seems to pull the sound that I'm looking for.

However I've been reading some posts that say that you should only pick down and not up when playing scales.

My question is: Does it really matter?

Next question is on the chop.

This seems to come and go for me. My question is, what is the proper tecnique for obtaining the chop.

Some days I think I have it and other days it seems like I don't have it.

Thanks-a-bunch,
    Keith Erickson
    Benevolent Organizer of The Mandocello Enthusiast

Congratulations! It seems strange to play scales with all down strokes. Playing scales is a exercise that not only familiarizes you with the notes to a certain key, but it is a great exercise to work on the right hand as well. I'm not a pro, but I would use up and down strokes when practicing scales. As for the chop, it depends on the sound you want. Some of the older, if not all of the older bluegrass recordings the player lets their chop ring before muting the strings. Alot of the new stuff that I listen to it is more of a percussive sound. I guess it all comes down to personal preference. I take lessons from Herschel Sizemore and he lets his chop ring before muting.
    "Play for the love of the music."
    # # # # # # # # # # # -Herschel Sizemore

M@ñdº|¡ñ - M@ñdºce||º Keith Erickson's Avatar

Thank you Daryl for your reponse. You're probably right. I guess I just have to find my personal preference on the the chop.

Thank you again
    Keith Erickson
    Benevolent Organizer of The Mandocello Enthusiast

Hey 8_String,

That is the same pick I use. Really like them, and have been using them for about one year now.

Scales are usually up down, unless doing jigs where people tend to use dud, or ddu, or other variations. I like dud.