Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New Mandolin Player... Have a Loar 520, is a Kentucky 800 Better?

Default New Mandolin Player... Have a Loar 520, is a Kentucky 800 Better?

I am a month into the mandolin. I have been playing guitar for 20 years though and like the better stuff and vintage guitars. I bought a Loar 520 and its good for sure but will a Kentucky 800 be a big upgrade to me in any way? Or does it make more sense to just splurge for something a lot nicer?

I am into Nickel Creek playing and thats really the sole reason I started learning mandolin.

I ask here and joined because I dont know a single mandolin player. My circle is drums and guitar. And at the stores nobody really know much either. So I am stuck trying to learn about this on my own.

formerly Philphool Phil Goodson's Avatar

Default Re: New Mandolin Player... Have a Loar 520, is a Kentucky 800 Bet

Welcome cap. You've come to the right place for info and opinions.
    You could spend months just reading results of the search engine on this site, looking for various subjects.

To your immediate point, excluding just personal preference, I think you'd likely need to jump to the $1500-2000 range (depending on new or used) to expect a huge upgrade. If you peruse the forum classifieds, you often will find great values in previously owned instruments in that range IMHO.

I expect you'll soon have many more opinions to read on this thread.
    Phil

“Sharps/Flats” “Accidentals”