Thread: 3rd FFcP Fourths Exercise (theory question)

Default 3rd FFcP Fourths Exercise (theory question)

Hi everyone. I’m a newbie, about 9 months into this mandolin journey. I have a question about the “fourths” exercise in the 3rd FFcP “Ionian Mandology” set from Getting Into Jazz Mandolin.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0D03E5E1-52D0-4790-9033-C26DC91096ED.jpeg 
Views:	112 
Size:	177.5 KB 
ID:	170553

I scribbled a red line between the note and tab position in question. This exercise is in the key of C. I understand that in a C scale, the 4th note counting from F is a B. But this interval doesn’t “sound” like my understanding of how a 4th interval sounds (e.g., like the first two notes in “HERE COMES the bride”). To me, the properly sounding 4th interval would be F to Bb. Of course, Bb isn’t in the C scale (but is in the F scale). So, how does this work? Is a 4th from F in the Key of F a Bb, but a 4th from F in the key of C a B natural?

Default Re: 3rd FFcP Fourths Exercise (theory question)

Hmm, I think I found the answer to my question (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perfect_fourth). F to B is a fourth because it spans 4 staff positions, but instead of being a perfect 4th (5 semitones), it’s a diminished 4th (4 semitones)?

How does this relate to playing music? Is this one of those “cerebral jazz theory” that the book says it would spare me? The more I learn about music theory, it seems, the less I understand it.

The Amateur Mandolinist Mark Gunter's Avatar
    South of Cleburne, North of Hillsboro, Texas

There are actually three different fourth intervals, not just one.

The fourth you're thinking of is the Perfect Fourth. A perfect fourth consists of five semitones, or half-steps.
    Four semitones is the interval of a major third, but also of the Diminished Fourth.
    Six semitones is the interval of the Augmented Fourth (also, the diminished fifth, aka the "tritone" interval).