Thread: Loar LM110A Mandolin Question

Default Loar LM110A Mandolin Question

So I just received this mandolin as a gift however I did get informed that it was an "off the wall" purchase. This is my first time in the mandolin world and I was just wondering what maintenance I should perform on it?

I know checking the set-up is one, but I'll have to internet search to see for tips since it's hard to find any good mandolin shops in the area. Should I replace the strings as soon as possible? It does have a bit of an extended vibration after the strings are played, after its been properly tuned.

Default Re: Loar LM110A Mandolin Question

I would replace the strings if they need to be replaced. You can contact Rob Meldrum on this site for his do-it-yourself mandolin set-up e-book (private message him.) I have a the Loar LM 220 that is probably a similar instrument, I found mine good to learn on.

The basic thing to watch is humidity levels. The ideal Relative Humidity is just below 50%. It is fine if this isn't exact, but if you get longterm exposure too much outside of this, it can mess up an acoustic instrument.

The factory setups on these are not the worst out there. EVen if you shop did no additional work, it should be playable. They do benefit from additional work though. If you can verify that the shop did not do a good setup, that would be worth while.

The strings that come from the factory are good quality but may be a little old. I would try a few gauges and see what you like. No hurry here, Strings tend to head downhill after around 20 hours of play. How long you leave them on is a personal choice.

Enjoy the new mandolin!
    Robert Fear
    http://www.folkmusician.com

"Education is when you read the fine print; experience is what you get when you don't.
    " - Pete Seeger

I live in Florida so the humidity here is a bit rough, any recommendations about keeping the humidity level in a room around 50%?