Thread: Bouzouki pickup

Default Bouzouki pickup

I finally found a good Bouzouki. It’s made by David Webber of Vancouver. It has no electronics and I have no wish to have holes drilled into it. Does anybody have advice about a pickup system that don’t require drilling holes@?

Default Re: Bouzouki pickup

I'm no expert so the advice I'd give is: you get what you pay for! Avoid the cheap ones; I bought one of the stick-on Piezo disc versions that attach to the body and it was complete rubbish.
    One of the warmest sounds I got was from an old DeArmond pickup that clamped to the front of the body by attaching to the strings behind the bridge, but they're hard to find now. I also use a Myers Feather Pickup on some of my older instruments, where I'm worried about damage to the wood, and it's performed well so far. It uses a rubber sucker to stick to the body and with care doesn't leave any marks.
    Andy Irvine uses a pickup which clamps to the soundhole - possibly a Fishman? - but these can mark the wood and it's noticeable once they're removed.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF3072.jpg 
Views:	255 
Size:	58.9 KB 
ID:	166200  
    "Danger! Do Not Touch!" must be one of the scariest things to read in Braille....

Quote Originally Posted by markarbogast View Post
    I finally found a good Bouzouki. It’s made by David Webber of Vancouver. It has no electronics and I have no wish to have holes drilled into it. Does anybody have advice about a pickup system that don’t require drilling holes@?
    Not being funny, but have you thought about a microphone rather than a pickup? There are many good small condenser mics out there which will give you a great sound. If you play without moving about too much it is a very viable choice.
    I'm playing all the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order. - Eric Morecambe

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheOldBores