Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Collings mandolin thoughts?

Default Collings mandolin thoughts?

I’m looking to buy a Collings mandolin. What are some of your thoughts on them and how do they compare to newer Gibson’s? Thanks

Blog Entries

Default Re: Collings mandolin thoughts?

To me, it's all about the sound. I think the Collings sound is less Gibsony than a Gibson but more Gibsony than a Weber. I have owned one of each, so those are my comparison points. All three can be, and usually are, very fine instruments. But still, play before you commit.
    New to mando? Click this link -->Newbies to join us at the Newbies Social Group.

Just send an email to rob.meldrum@gmail.com with "mandolin setup" in the subject line and he will email you a copy of his ebook for free (free to all mandolincafe members).

My website and blog: honketyhank.com

3. The following members say thank you to HonketyHank for this post:

As a beginner, I went to the Mandolon Store in AZ and played a bunch. I’m convinced that it’s all subjective but I was not convinced that the pac rim instruments were what I wanted. Personally I like a rich, full set of tones and I thought the Eastmans, Kentucky’s etc leaned to mostly a narrow range inthe high end. When I picked up the Weber’s and the Collings, I thought” now we’re talking”
    Even the 4K Gibson they had there didn’t seem to have much character. It was just too perfect. (I’ll get some argument on that) Each instrument is different of course but to my ears, the Collings MTO had just the “right” sound.
    Peter Kaufman violin
    Old Wave two point

5. The following members say thank you to Cochiti Don for this post:

Blog Entries