Thread: Transition from bass to mando

Default Transition from bass to mando

Hey all, I've been playing electric bass guitar for about 11 years now (can play a good deal of guitar too) and I've enjoyed it more than anything. The past year changed that for me though. My brother who, was the singer/songwriter has gone to London for his masters degree, and we lost our drummers a while back so our band days are over. At least for the near future. I've decided to learn mandolin because it's always been one of my favorite sounding instruments and I'm looking for opinions on how the upside down string thing will conflict with my learning. I'm a very quick learner for the most part but the strings reversed will definitely mess with my improvisation abilities. Thoughts or experiences with with this topic?? I will have my new Loar LM-520 on Christmas so I'm getting excited as this new musical journey approaches.

Confused... or?
    Over the Hudson & thru the woods from NYC

Default Re: Transition from bass to mando

Most folks will tell you to ignore and/or don't-get-sucker-punched-by the "upside down" tuning of mandolin, and there's a lot of truth to that. Mostly, try to treat it as a new instrument, except ...

Personally that knowledge DID help but just peripherally, mostly because I taught myself chords first, and getting mirror-images of the guitar's lower 4 strings (ya know, same as bass?) made it easy to find the mando chords. Hey, Em was the easiest because it's the same as guitar (a symmetrical 0220), as is D if you know where to play the guitar's low E string (being the same as the high E; okay, it's 2002). But that's just for basic 2-finger chords, and mandolin's close frets offer FAR more possible chord formations than guitar does.