Thread: Finding whats appropriate and what's the balance?

I really look like that soliver's Avatar

Default Finding whats appropriate and what's the balance?

Hey all, I've been playing for a few years now and have really focused in for the most part on BG, OT and a little celtic. I am stretching a little to join the band at the church. For the most part, the music is what most would refer to as "Contemporary Christian." A lot of it is very much like rock or pop but very Ballad-like in a sense.

In the BG/OT arena I am used to choosing along until I get my turn for the break when I play the melody which is typically very similar or the same as the lyric's melody. Long and short, I am mostly used to playing the song's melody. In this worship setting, it does't always seem appropriate to play what the singer is singing, and it can often sound kinda weird.

In this setting, I am finding the mandolin as more of an ornament and less of a driver as in the BG/OT arena. So since I find playing melody is not always the best route, I am having trouble figuring out WHAT to play and where.

I have been learning the chord progressions and trying to do some cross picking as well as listening to recordings and finding little background melodies to fill in with (utilizing a lot of tremolo), but I would love any and all advice from the collective.

Thanks in advance.
    aka: Spencer
    Silverangel Econo A #429
    Soliver #001 & #002: A double stack of Pancakes.

Soliver Hand Crafted Mandolins and Mandolin Armrests
    Armrests Here -- Mandolins Here

"You can never cross the ocean unless you have the courage
    to lose sight of the shore, ...and also a boat with no holes in it.” -anonymous

The Amateur Mandolinist Mark Gunter's Avatar
    South of Cleburne, North of Hillsboro, Texas

Default Re: Finding whats appropriate and what's the balance?

Quote Originally Posted by soliver View Post