Thread: Beginner looking for advices

Default Beginner looking for advices

Hi everyone!
    Pardon my english, I'm still not fluent.
    I'm new to mandolin and fell in love with this instrument during a trip to Ireland.
    As a poor student, I bought some inexpensive mando from amazon : https://www.amazon.fr/Mandoline-Natu...215CTD2WYPADT4

Do you think that's a good starter instrument?
    What kind (shape?) of mandolin should I buy if I get good and upgrade to something better? (I would like to play celtic music and why not bluegrass)

Thanks,
    MisterLama

Default Re: Beginner looking for advices

I do not know that make ore model. At that price I wouldn't expect much. It probably will need setup work. I professional setup would cost more than the mandolin. There is a free guied to mandolin setup available (in English) from member Rob Meldrum.
    Last edited by Nevin; Sep-24-2017 at 11:40am. Reason: Got Rob's last name wrong.

Thanks you and thanks Rob

Here is Rob's setup book.
    https://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/s...by-Rob-Meldrum
    It may be a bit more tricky to get the string height right since it does not have an adjustable bridge, but you can sand the bridge down from the bottom of the bridge. Just be careful when you do that you do not remove too much material.

From the link you gave above, it looks like you're in France?
    I'd contact Dave Hynds who probably has a selection of mandolins that would be great for Celtic music, when you decide to upgrade.
    http://www.mandolinluthier.com/index.htm
    Last edited by colorado_al; Sep-24-2017 at 12:25pm.

I have to chuckle when someone apologizes for their perceived lack of English skills. We Americans are the most foreign language deficient folks on the planet. That you can communicate in a non native language is commendable.