Thread: Rookie looking for guidance...

Default Rookie looking for guidance...

Hey all,

Firstly, I have no real music background to speak of. I took up mandolin almost a month now, I can play the basic GCD chords, and a few scales. My major problem is that I don't have ANY instructors with in a reasonable distance from me. So I'm mostly going off of Youtube right now (Mandolessons). That fellow seems to be true gentleman and starting my next paycheck i'm gonna start giving to his Patreon. But it still is difficult not having an instructor there to show you what and how you're doing things wrong and how to fix it. I'm eager and willing to learn but its frustrating without someone to give you direction and feedback. I'm open to suggestions, are there any online courses i ought to check out? does anyone know of a Skype teacher (and how good of a medium that is to learn music through)?
    Thanks all for any and everything.

Gibson F5L Gibson A5L
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Rookie looking for guidance...

SKYPE works fine for an online teacher student lesson. There is a small delay in transmission but that doesn't impact a lesson much at all. Check out the list of instructors available on the Café Home page. they are listed under the Classifieds button in the Lessons file. R/
    I love hanging out with mandolin nerds . . . . . Thanks peeps ...

Blog Entries

First of all, welcome to Mandolin Cafe -- glad to have you here.

And I am glad you found Mandolessons.com, where I, too, have learned so much.

Re Skype lessons, I have heard that they can be very effective and satisfying. But just like in-person lessons, much depends on the 'chemistry' between you and the instructor. So dig around on the Cafe and you will find recommendations for various instructors via Skype. But if you don't hit it off, it is not a bad mark against you or the instructor - just try a different one.
    New to mando? Click this link -->Newbies to join us at the Newbies Social Group.