Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eastman 315 upgrade suggestion, just 1

Default Eastman 315 upgrade suggestion, just 1

I have been playing an Eastman 315 for almost two years. Its all stocked. I really like it and I'm not really in a position to fully upgrade to a new mando.

So my question is, which 1 thing should I upgrade. For instance, tailpiece, bridge, tuners, etc. I have a toneguard on it and use Primetone, Wegen & VPicks. Also I use 74's for strings. I just want do at least 1 upgrade to make the sound better. Just like to know some thoughts.

Default Re: Eastman 315 upgrade suggestion, just 1

Bridge upgrade probably gives you the best choice of those listed for improving, or at least changing, the tone. Cumberland Acoustics come highly recommended, but I noticed substantial improvement on a KM 675-S just by replacing the rosewood bridge with a well fitted ebony bridge from Stew Mac (also an inexpensive option, which was very important for me at the time)...
    Chuck

Depends. How well does it hold tuning now? If you think it could be better, then I'd recommend new tuners.

If the tuners work well for you, then a new bridge would be my recommendation.

I personally wouldn't bother with the tailpiece. While a different model might make it easier to change strings, don't think it has that big of an effect on tone. Again, that's just my opinion. Other reasonable people may disagree.
    Brentrup Model 23, Boeh A5 #37, Gibson A Jr., Flatiron 1N, Coombe Classical flattop, Strad-O-Lin
    https://www.facebook.com/LauluAika/
    https://www.lauluaika.com/
    https://www.facebook.com/Longtine-Am...14404553312723

Have you ever tried heavier strings? I'm using the 11.5-40 Nickel Bronze set, and love the sound. At least try the EJ75 set. Dramatic improvement on my 315. Adding an armrest was night and day difference, also.
    Soliver arm rested and Tone-Garded Northfield Model M with D’Addario NB 11.5-41, picked with a Wegen Bluegrass 1.4