Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: does it matter that much?

Default does it matter that much?

I'm a newbie but i finally got up enough courage to lead a few songs at our local jam session. i led some really basic songs but still being new to the mandolin, i did them using two finger chords mainly G, C and D. as i was doing the songs, most everyone in the jam group was getting into the song(s) singing out loud with me, tapping in time with the songs and basically having a great time. even the patrons inside the cafe was singing along. so, as you can imagine, i was ecstatic and couldn't wait to come back the next time maybe even with a new song or two.
    however, there was a "seasoned" mandolin player there who pulled me aside after we were finished and told me i really need to learn my songs using three finger chords and that the way i was doing it wasn't actually correct because i was turning the mandolin into a strumming instrument like a guitar instead of using it for the chop and percussion sound it was meant to be used for. as you can imagine, all the excitement that i had went from 10 to 0 in a hurry. no way will this person ever keep me from the jamming that i enjoy so much, but now i'm going to be wondering every time that this person is there am i going to get some more "constructive criticism" after we are done. i'm always working on three finger chords and chopping chords and will get there someday where i will be comfortable in doing songs this way. to me, two finger chords sometimes makes a much better sound than three finger chords. i understand that there is a time for more than two finger chords but is it that important to have to play every song using three finger chords? any advice would be appreciated!

Default Re: does it matter that much?

My two cents-

Are you having fun? Sounds like the answer is yes.

Are you moving forward? Sounds like you want to, and are doing so.