Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Arthritis?

Smile Arthritis?

Hi, I'm a 72 yr old newbie. I bought a Seagull S8 as my first mandolin. I love playing it and I wish I'd started 30 years ago. I bought Bert Casey's Mandolon Primer about 6 weeks ago and I think it's pretty good. I'm currently working through the pain in my fingers and it's getting better but my knuckles hurt and I'm wondering if I started too late or if ther is some home remedy for the fingers. Thank you in advance
    Don

Default Re: Arthritis?

Welcome to the forum Don. Providing your mandolin is well set up, playing it with an arthritic condition is unlikely to do any harm providing you don't overdo things. So far as I am aware, exercising the affected joints may well have a beneficial effect.

3. The following members say thank you to Ray(T) for this post:

JimY 

Registered User Charlie Bernstein's Avatar

Hi, Don!

I'm 65 and pretty new to the mando, too. It hurts my fingers and hand, too. A few things:

- How you hold it makes a big difference. Don't nestle in the crook of your thumb like a guitar. Hold far enough that you can slide your right forefinger between your left hand and the mando neck. And instead of pressing straight down on the strings guitar-style, let them flatten out a little and come down on the strings at a softer angle.

- Playing every other day rather than every day helps. Shorter sessions might be in order, too.

- Some folks take their favorite anti-inflamatory before picking up the mando. Mine is aspirin.

Give it some time. Your fingers will tell you if you started too late. Unless they put the kibosh on it, keep on pluckin'!

5. The following members say thank you to Charlie Bernstein for this post:

The Amateur Mandolinist Mark Gunter's Avatar
    South of Cleburne, North of Hillsboro, Texas