Thread: Calace Method Help

Default Calace Method Help

I'm studying the Calace method and the Branzoli method to improve my sight reading and overall technique. But I'm stuck with the Calace Method book 2, Lesson 9.

I can read french and italian, I understand the indications but I can't understand how to translate them to the mandolin. If I play the two notes with one stroke, I only get a drone/double stop.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	03801-Metodo_per_mandolino_Parte_2a_7.pdf 
Views:	184 
Size:	72.7 KB 
ID:	157180

Maybe somebody here can explain me this part to me.

In Lesson X, the exercise is in a totally unknown measure to me, 12/8. How to use this measure in the metronome for practice? I have a metronome and a digital metronome in the PC.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	03801-Metodo_per_mandolino_Parte_2a_8.pdf 
Views:	118 
Size:	68.9 KB 
ID:	157182

thanks in advance for your help

Default Re: Calace Method Help

Hello Jairo, In the first exercise, my understanding is that you play the notes separately with down strokes. Like this:

And the second exercise, you count in four. Note that I'm not using the suggested pick directions, and I'm taking it about 10bpm slower than the posted tempo.

Hope these help, all the best.
    2016 Ellis F5
    2007 Gibson Sam Bush
    1924 Gibson A Jr.
    1913 R. Calace Brevettato 900
    Espresso
    Youtube

3. The following members say thank you to Jordan Ramsey for this post:

Hello Jordan! Thanks for the videos!

My musical education says me to play the 72 exercise as you do (wonderful playing, by the way), but I'm not sure. Calace says in the explanation: with one pick stroke down in the first note passing immediately to the other note, obtaining with one pick stroke two notes at the change (changing?) of the strings. He uses the sign g__, in the 71 exercise too, and I believe that is the sign for hammer on. Meanwhile, I will do it as you do, the same way as in the Cristofaro method.