Thread: Making a $40 Rogue mando play like a dream. It is possible!

Default Making a $40 Rogue mando play like a dream. It is possible!

I said "play", not "sound".. although it doesn't sound that bad for a beginner instrument

There have been a lot of questions about the dirt-cheap mandos like the Rogue, and I wanted to post what my experience was with one - in case it helps any others get the most out of theirs. Nobody wants to drop 3-400 on a beginner mando when they aren't sure they or their kid will even stick with it. Anyway - after working my Rogue over - it is amazingly playable and serves its purpose well - a beginner mandolin for my daughter. I'm a 30+ year guitarist, so I'm pretty harsh when it comes to judging beginner instruments.. If it plays poorly, it is hard to learn on - so i'm not saying the Rogue is a great instrument by any means.. but I was able to make this one play like a dream and I don't think my daughter would be nearly as far along if I hadn't. She can play it for a couple of hours and not even complain.

Goal: Buy a Rogue A-style mandolin and make it as playable as possible. Was on sale at the time for $39, so it wasn't that big of a risk.

The Theory: A Rogue is a cheap, asian-import mandolin. Mass produced in a factory. However - so is that $199 fender, $150 gretsch, etc.. They just have had a little more effort put into the setup. My theory was that I could buy this $40 mando, put a little elbow grease into it and have something way more playable than your average stock beginner mando for considerably less.