Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: In Defense of F-Styles

===========

Default In Defense of F-Styles

I am going to use a generalized Q&A here - so please don't be too overly-critical of the exact wording, and take the post simply for its intended overall idea . . .

For many years (I was a former member of this forum from the late 90's to the mid-2000's), I have read nearly countless posts that go something like this:

Q: I am a beginner and want to get a decent F-style mandolin to learn on. I have $XXX to spend. Can anybody give me some recommendations?

A: For $XXX you can buy a much better quality A-style mandolin. Why do you want an F-style? Because they are better looking? All you are really doing is paying extra money for the scroll.

Here is my answer:

Yes, I do like the aesthetic quality of F-style mandolins. I may be crazy, but I feel more inspired to play my mandolin (or any other instrument) when it is not only an instrument that plays and sounds good (even if only to my ears), but is also a pleasure to look at. I like to open my mandolin case and see an instrument that is just as much fun to look at, as it is to play . . . kind of like preferring to drive a nice-looking sports car, as opposed to a plaid one with Barney the Dinosaur decals all over it - the same car still handles well and moves quickly, but wouldn't you generally prefer the 'better looking' one?

Also, from a non-aesthetic perspective - I find F-style mandolins to be a better physical 'fit' for me. After 20 years of playing guitar and electric bass, I became very comfortable with feeling the 'shoulders' of my instruments resting against my chest when I play. When I play an A-style mandolin that extra body size (scroll) is missing, and therefore the mandolin feels much less 'balanced', and I feel less comfortable playing it.

Needless to say, I am not an F-style snob (more of my mandolins have been A-style than F-style), but given a choice, I do prefer an 'F'.