Thread: Bluegrass or Classical Mandolin Lessons

Default Bluegrass or Classical Mandolin Lessons

I am new to the Mandolin and have never played an instrument before. I am trying to decide on Mike Marshall's Bluegrass lessons or Caterina Lichtenberg's Classical lessons. What are your thoughts for a very beginner beginner?

Default Re: Bluegrass or Classical Mandolin Lessons

Provided you like both genres of music, I would ask which one will provide the most opportunity to play with other people in your location? When I was first starting on mandolin I worked on bluegrass, classical and jazz pieces with my teacher. Now, I focus entirely on bluegrass because I have found that my location has a number of bluegrass jams (2-3 per week) where I can go and play with other people. Playing with other people is a huge driver for getting better and really fun. Suggest you do some searching to see what opportunities there are in your area.

3. The following members say thank you to Steve Repinec for this post:

poor excuse for anything Charlieshafer's Avatar

I think I'd go with Mike (hey, hey and Caterina are married, so they'll both make out) only because Mike can give you both the bluegrass element as well as the classical. They're both big on proper technique, so you won;t lose there. But Steve makes a very good point, you become much more of a social animal if you stay more on the bluegrass side of things. The good news is that by learning proper technique, you'll be able to play anything you want in time.

5. The following members say thank you to Charlieshafer for this post:

There is another thread discussing just about the same question. there is a new site Mandolins Heal the World. I have done a trial with Mike Marshall and Mandolins Heal the World. I will be subscribing to Mandolins Heal the World in the next week or so. There is a coupon for Mandolin Café members for $50 off a year subscription.