Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Classical Mandolin Dealers

Default Classical Mandolin Dealers

Hello All,

I am new here. I have been a musician most of my life. I have a degree from Ithaca College and I have been an orchestra director and violin/viola teacher for 34 years. I play and collect violins and violas and their bows by modern makers.

I am interested in learning classical mandolin and perhaps playing some Bach and Vivaldi. I am having a hard time finding a "classical" mandolin. I can find a million harpsichord/lute/recorder/violin/etc. dealers but most of the mandolin dealers are bluegrass type instruments.

It could be that I just don't understand what makes a classical mandolin. I have in my head that it should have a bowl back like a lute, but I am probably off base.

Thanks,

Dwight

Default Re: Classical Mandolin Dealers

Here is a recent thread on the topic.

The gist of it is that you can play classical music on any mandolin, even a "bluegrass" one, but some are more suitable depending on what specific tone or scale length you prefer. It is funny that you are a violinist but you don't realize that you can play bluegrass on any violin. In any case, read that thread... you may get a little dizzy doing so, but then you can post there and ask whatever questions.
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately:
    1924 Gibson A4 - 2018 Campanella A-5 - 2007 Brentrup A4C - 1915 Frank Merwin Ashley violin - Huss & Dalton DS - 1923 Gibson A2 black snakehead - '83 Flatiron A5-2 - 1939 Gibson L-00 - 1936 Epiphone Deluxe - 1928 Gibson L-5 - ca. 1890s Fairbanks Senator Banjo - ca. 1923 Vega Style M tenor banjo - ca. 1920 Weymann Style 25 Mandolin-Banjo - National RM-1

Thanks,