Thread: Sustain

Default Sustain

I recently started playing classical guitar. One of the basic techniques is to damp the bass notes, to mute the strings.
    Now when I play my bowl back, arpeggios for example and I play the bass G and end up four notes later on the treble E string while my G is still ringing...
    On the mandolin it doesn't sound too bad, however sometimes it's a little bit annoying
    Would like to hear from others here about this
    “Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.”
    ― Victor Hugo

Blog Entries

Default Re: Sustain

I use the little finger when damping the wound strings, but haven't needed more than a lift of the fretting finger for the unwound courses. On the Calace the G needs constant attention to keep it under control.
    On the mandoloncello I have to use heel-damping on the right hand as the strings have such a large travel distance and momentum that the little finger isn't enough on its own and just makes a zinging noise if not assisted by the right hand.
    Eoin

"Forget that anyone is listening to you and always listen to yourself" - Fryderyk Chopin

3. The following members say thank you to Beanzy for this post:

Blog Entries

My Weber Aspen II has sustain for days.

Its useful for hammer ons and pull offs, and some melody / counter melody playing, but just as often I have to damp the strings.

So far I have found it easier to damp strings with the fretting hand, just by pulling back without removing my finger. But I can see where it would depend on a number of things, like the effect you want to achieve, and what other notes are involved etc. I have started to do strumming hand damping, with the heel of my hand or with the side. But I am still awkward at it.