Thread: Schecter electric bass guitar: opinion wanted

Default Schecter electric bass guitar: opinion wanted

Sorry that this is not mandolin related, but members of this forum are very knowledgeable about various instruments from whom I am sure I can learn from.

I have been playing bass guitar for a few years, starting with a very cheap one, then an acoustic electric bass (too bulky for me to hold). Of course it does not sound very good. A friend loans me a Schecter Diamond Series (Omen 4-string). It sounds really good on my bass amps (a big one and a small portable one). This one has an active circuit as it has a 9V battery compartment.
    What I am really looking for is a Schecter 5-string bass guitar (an used one so I can afford it). I am wondering if some of you have experiences with various Schecter 5 string bass guitars to give me some recommendation.

Default Re: Schecter electric bass guitar: opinion wanted

A friend of mine bought one about 6 years back. I had it for a couple of days, did a dressing and setup.
    The setup was ok from the factory, but there was room for improvement. Electronics were acceptable. I don't recall what the model was or how much it was, but at the time I remember thinking it was pretty nice for what he paid.
    Robert Fear
    http://www.folkmusician.com

"Education is when you read the fine print; experience is what you get when you don't.
    " - Pete Seeger

I've owned a lot of their electric guitars. I'm not up on current models, but all mine were good. Great bang for the buck. It's harder to get a good cheap 5 string than 4, though, so go to Sam Ash or GC and try a bunch. In the same price range, also check out ESP, Ibanez, and especially Fender/Squier.
    Soliver arm rested and Tone-Garded Northfield Model M with D’Addario NB 11.5-41, picked with a Wegen Bluegrass 1.4